Tappmeyer and Bartle inducted into ECC Athletic Hall of Fame

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Former teammates Steve Tappmeyer (left) and Ray Bartle (right) attended the recent ECC Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

On Fri., June 8 Steve Tappmeyer (Owensville H.S. graduate) and Ray Bartle (Union H.S. graduate) of the 1976-77 East Central College men’s basketball team were inducted into East Central's Athletic Hall of Fame.

The 76-77 team compiled a record of 28-3 and was nationally ranked throughout the majority of the season.  The team also won the Midwest Junior College Athletic conference championship.

Other members of the team were Ray Steinhoff, Charles Brice, Ken Brooks, Vince Celano, Charlie Clonts, David Cochran, Derrick Ferguson, Jimmy Griggsby, Houston Johnson, Tim Morris, and head coach Marvin Walker.

The event was held at the dinner following the Falcon Invitational Golf Tournament at Wolf Hollow Country Club.

An interactive touch screen has been installed in the lobby outside the ECC gymnasium to provide a publicly accessible digital archive to photos and achievements of Hall of Fame athletes and coaches.  Photos of most of the ECC athletic teams can also be accessed from the touch screen.

Funding for the display was provided through a donation from the ECC Foundation, proceeds from the annual Alumni and Athletic Department Golf Tournament, and funds raised working at the Washington Town and Country Fair.