Union High School wins $100 grant as part of Crawford Electric’s Youth Tour competition

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Christie Baker, left, receives a $100 grant check on behalf of Union High School from Crawford Electric’s Genifer Cape on Friday, Aug. 17. The school won this grant by having one finalist in this year’s Rural Electric Youth Tour competition.

BOURBON, Mo. – Union High School’s back-to-school teacher workshop on Friday, Aug. 17, included a presentation of a classroom grant to benefit students, part of Crawford Electric’s Youth Tour competition. Co-op representative Genifer Cape presented a $100 Youth Tour Classroom Grant to counselor Christie Baker, who coordinates Crawford Electric’s Youth Tour participants at the school.

Union High School won this grant by having one finalist in the 2012 Rural Electric Youth Tour competition, which ultimately sent three high school juniors to Washington, D.C., in June for a unique week of educational and leadership experiences. Schools in Crawford Electric Cooperative’s service area can earn $100 for each Youth Tour competition finalist and an additional $500 for each finalist who advances in the competition to be one of the D.C. delegates. Union High School’s finalist was KateLyn Riechers.

This month, Crawford Electric will award $2,400 in Youth Tour Classroom Grants to local high schools as part of the cooperative’s commitment to community, one of the benefits of being a Touchstone Energy Cooperative. In the six years that Crawford Electric has provided cash incentives to schools participating in the Youth Tour competition, Union High School has earned $700. Schools use the Youth Tour Classroom Grants to benefit students with classroom materials such as books, DVD players, videos, computers and software.

Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service. Crawford Electric serves more than 19,000 meters along more than 3,300 miles of distribution lines in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.